Meetings will be held on the first Monday of every month at 8 a.m.  Meetings are held in the Fiscal Court Chambers in the Kenton County Government Center at 1840 Simon Kenton Way, Covington.  If meetings are cancelled or rescheduled, a notice will be posted on this page.

4/13/2022 Special Meeting to be held on April 18, 2022 at 8:30 a.m. in Fiscal Court Chambers

  • Gabrielle Summe, Chairman of the County Board of Elections & County Clerk
  • Sarah Rogers, Democratic Representative
  • Scott Kimmich, Republican Representative
  • Chuck Korzenborn, Sheriff
  • Stacy Tapke, County Attorney


Members of the Central Ballot Counting Board are appointed by the Democratic and Republican members of the County Board of Elections

For the 2022 Primary:  Board will discussed meeting between May 11th- May 17th in the Riedlin-Schott Room, 2nd Floor, County Government Center, 1840 Simon Kenton Way, Covington

Starting on May 11th, Board will meet at 11 a.m. to review and process the ballots received from mail-in absentees.

After May 11th, the Board has decided they will next meet on Monday, May 16th at 9 a.m.

Meeting are posted on this website.

May 17, 2022 ELECTION DAY:  Board will be in session from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. or until all the ballots accepted up to and including 6 p.m. have been reviewed and processed.



If you are interested in working the primary or general election please contact the County Board of Elections at 859-392-1620:

  • Sarah Rogers, Democratic Representative  
  • Scott Kimmich, Republican Representative

The County Board of Elections needs approximately 240 people to work the polls and would like to have at least 50 alternates.

Requirements to Serve as an Election Officer:

1. An election officer must be a qualified voter in the precinct in which he/she serves unless appointed as an alternate. An alternate must be a registered voter in the county. Registered 17 year olds may serve in the primary election if they will be 18 years old on or before the day of the general election.

2. An election officer cannot have changed party affiliation for one year prior to appointment.

3. An election officer must be able to read and write English.

4. An election officer must attend the required two hour training session before each primary and general election.

5. An election officer cannot be a candidate for office during the election year.

6. An election officer cannot be the spouse, parent, brother, sister or child of a candidate who is to be voted for at the election in the precinct in which the election officer will serve on Election Day.

7. An election officer must be able to work from 5:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. or until the polls close, to stand for long periods of time and lift up to 25 pounds. The polls are open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

8. An election officer must have transportation to election training and to the precinct on Election Day.

Q: Do I get paid for being an election officer?
A:  All officers are paid $150.00 for serving at the precinct on Election Day. Officers are paid an additional $20 for attending a required training session. The Election officer who returns the results to the County Clerk’s office will receive $5.00.

Q: What are the election officer positions?
A: Four election officers serve in every precinct. In March of each election year, the County Board of Elections appoints two judges, one clerk and one sheriff for each precinct.

The clerk is responsible for the e-poll book, voter identification and completing required forms.  The two judges are responsible for setting up and operating the voting machine for voters.  The sheriff is responsible for working with the clerk and enforcing the electioneering laws within 100 feet of the polling place.