## HOW TO READ THE KENTON COUNTY BALLOT MATRIX (12/27/23)

Why does Kenton County have such a complicated ballot setup?

KRS 117.055 states that a precinct can contain only one of the following districts: A congressional district.

- A state senatorial district
- A state representative district
- A justice of the peace or county commissioner's district established under KRS Chapter 67
- An aldermanic ward established under KRS 83.440.

However, a precinct can have more than one judicial district, city, school board or unincorporated county properties.

In Kenton County, there is only one Supreme Court division and one Judicial Circuit. But we have:

- o 4 Senatorial Districts
- 6 House of Representative Districts
- 3 Commissioner Districts (voted for on a county-wide basis)
- o 3 Magistrates Districts (only voted for by those precincts in that district)
- o 3 Constable Districts (only voted for by those precincts in that district)
- o 19 cities
- 5 Independent School Boards
- o 1 Common School Board that has 5 Divisions.

All these different components mean there are many combinations for ballots. In preparing for ballots for each election, the Board of Elections uses a ballot matrix to ensure that each component of a precinct is included on the ballot. This tool can also be used by a voter to determine what combination of races that will be on their ballot.

The matrix has the following columns:

Code District Name   School Subreme Court   Judicial Judicial
---

Reading the matrix from left to right you will see:

**PRECINCT CODE:** The code always starts with a letter. In Kenton County we have three Commissioner Districts, so the "A" stands for the First Commissioner District, the "B" stands for the Second Commissioner District and the "C" stands for the Third Commissioner District. These three districts also determine the precincts for the Magistrate and Constable Districts.

**PRECINCT NAME**: This is assigned by the County Board of Elections as an easier way to identify where the precinct is located. Most of the names reflect the city or area in which the precinct lies. For example, Crescent Springs contains both city property and county property, but the majority of the property is city property.

**Commissioner District:** This column shows which precincts are assigned to the First, Second or Third Commissioner Districts. These districts also determine the precincts for the Magistrate and Constable Districts.

**Senate**: This column shows which precinct is assigned to one of the four (4) senatorial districts: 17<sup>th</sup> Senatorial District, 20<sup>th</sup> Senatorial District, 23<sup>rd</sup> Senatorial District or 24<sup>th</sup> Senatorial District.

**Representative**: This column shows which precinct is assigned to one of the following six (6) house of representative districts: 61<sup>st</sup> House, 63<sup>rd</sup> House, 64<sup>th</sup> House, 65<sup>th</sup> House, 69<sup>th</sup> House or 78<sup>th</sup> House.

**Congressional**: Kenton County only has the Fourth (4<sup>th</sup>) Congressional District.

**Supreme Court**: Kenton County only have the Sixth (6<sup>th)</sup> Supreme Court District.

Judicial: Kenton County only has the Sixteenth (16<sup>th)</sup> Judicial Circuit.

**City**: this is where you have to look at what combinations are available if a precinct has either two cities or a city and unincorporated property. These potential combinations are called SPLITS.

**School**: this is where you have to look at what combinations are available if a precinct has two different school boards. These potential combinations are called SPLITS.

-					-		- U			
	Precinct Code	Precinct Name	Commissioner District	Senate	Representative	Congressional	Supreme Court	Judicial	cuty	school
	B201	Bracht 1	2	20	61	4	6	16	WAL & CO	SB1 & SBWAL
	B202	Bracht 2	2	17	61	4	6	16	со	SB1

An example is B201 Bracht 1 which has four potential ballot combinations:

- 1. City of Walton with Kenton County School Division 1
- 2. City of Walton with Walton School District
- 3. County with Kenton County School Division 1
- 4. County with Walton School District

To determine which ballot combination will be on your ballot, you can either call the Voter office at 859-392-1620 or you can often see which city or school board is listed on your tax bill.

Here is a list of all the abbreviations used in the matrix:

CITY	CODE		CITY	CODE
COUNTY	CO		FT WRIGHT	FTW
BROMLEY	BRM		INDEPENDENCE	IND
COVINGTON	COV		KENTON VALE	KV
CRESCENT SPRINGS	CSP		LAKESIDE	LSP
CRESTVIEW HILLS	CRH		LUDLOW	LUD
EDGEWOOD	EDG		PARK HILLS	PH
ELSMERE	ELS		RYLAND HEIGHTS	RH
ERLANGER	ERL		TAYLOR MILL	TM
FAIRVIEW	FVW		VILLA HILLS	VH
FT MITCHELL	FTM		WALTON	WAL

SCHOOL	CODE
County Div 1	SB1
County Div 2	SB2
County Div 3	SB3
County Div 4	SB4
County Div 5	SB5
Beechwood	SBBWD
Covington Ind	SBCOV
Erlanger/Els	SBERL
Ludlow Ind	SBLUD
Walton Ind	SBWAL