Email:  Questions for County Clerk     (859)392-1600    Linked in    

Marriage License

Marriage licenses are issued in the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must appear together. The license is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and the license fee is non-refundable. The license must be used within the Commonwealth of Kentucky.  You can expedite your trip to the clerk’s office by filing out the 2016 MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION.

Filing Fees: The fee is $35.50

Age Requirements:

18 or older. Both parties must be present and need one of the following:

  •  a state Driver’s license or state picture I.D  OR  certified U.S. birth certificate (a passport, visa, or green card with picture-translated into English)

16 or 17. Both parties must be present and be a resident of Kenton County and require ALL of the following:

    • certified copy of birth certificate (proof of residency school records, state Driver’s license, medical records, etc.)
    • parent or guardian must sign permission form
    • show court orders for legal custody
    • a state Driver’s license or state picture I.D  

Under 16. Need everything as age 16 and 17.  Also the female must be pregnant and have a court order from the district court.

Information Required:

  • Name & address
  • Date of birth & age
  • Place of Birth (If in KY give county, in another state give state)
  • Father’s name
  • Mother’s first & maiden name
  • Current status of each party (Single, Divorced, Annulled, Widowed)
  • Number of previous marriages of each party
  • Occupations of each party
  • Race of each party
  • Whether parties are related (First cousins are not permitted to marry in Kentucky)
  • Date of marriage

Solemnization of Marriage: There are no residency requirements or licensing requirements applicable to ministers or priests who wish to perform marriages in Kentucky.

Marriages shall be solemnized only by clergy, justices and judges of the Court of Justice; retired justices and judges of the Court of Justice, except those removed for cause or convicted of a felony; county judge/executives; such justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners as the Governor or the county judge/executive authorizes, and certain religious societies.

At least two persons, in addition to the parties and the person solemnizing the marriage, must be present at every marriage.

To Obtain a Certified Copy of a Marriage License by Mail:

The fee for a certified copy is $5.

Send written notice to:

Kenton County Clerk’s Office

303 Court Street, Room 102

Covington, KY 41011

Include the following information:

First Party/Bride’s maiden name

Second Party/Groom’s name

Date of marriage (year).